confession of a shopaholic

I’m Rebecca Bloomwood, and I’m a shopaholic.
 
Chick Flick! yes… but a good one. Honest, i’m not normally a sucker for chick flicks.. =P  
 
Aren’t we all Rebecca in one way or another? Everyone has some sort of an addiction more or less, and is in some ways living a lie. Sometimes it’s hard to figure out what’s really important to life and to stay true to that.
 
It makes me think, what’s my addiction and what’s my lie? i think I numb myself with other people’s lives and fictions mostly. It’s a lot easier to experience life out of a script, than creating your own. Sometimes you don’t find what’s really important till you hit that rock bottom. at least that’s how it always is in the movies. I don’t ever want to be at the rock bottom, but will I ever find my truth without ever getting there? And maybe it’s not so bad to have an addiction, as long as it’s a healthy one. Everyone needs something to motivate themselves with, and to make the world seem better.  I guess that’s why there’s a term called hobby, versus addiction.
 
It is another cinderella story…. but go figures. Magic happens, and things all work out in the end. The producer/writer is only giving what the audience craves for I suppose. People don’t get to be cinderellas in real life.
 
and is it me? or does Hugh Dancy (actor playing Luke) look like Orlando Bloom? Luke has quite a charming personality, plus, I love the accent. We should all speak british english in america! I wonder,  if I start faking a british accent from now on, will people look at me weird? =P
 
Here are some quotes I like from the movie:
"Nothing defines me except you and your mother"
"no, she’s not my girlfriend; she’s not you"
"When I shop the world gets better, the world is better; and then it’s not anymore and I have to do it again."
 
I didn’t like how Rebecca was portraited as a dumb blond in the beginning of the movie, and she wasn’t even blond… but i suppose it’s for the comical factor. And I did enjoy the fashion display in the movie, sort of reminds me of the movie "The Devil Wears Parada"… and strangely this movie makes people want to shop more than not! tricky subliminal ad!
 
**********
I need to write a review for UP… but the longer i wait.. the less i feel like writting it.. =(  coming soon…  i hope… fingers crossed.
About m0untainmist

I'm awesome ;-) j/k...
This entry was posted in English, movies/dramas. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to confession of a shopaholic

  1. Lerry says:

    write UP please~ I think UP is much better and meaningful than this movie. By the way, I have watched both already~ ^^ waiting!!!! I am a loyal reader of your blog!

Leave a Reply

