Into the Wild

***Spoiler contained***
Another movie that’s making my heart ache… I wish Chris had made it back home safe… In some ways the end of the movie brought peace. He lived an amazing 2 years, and have found what he was looking for… but I wish he had more.  The trip was his escape from the messed up family/society and to be free and search for the truth.  At the end of the movie, he found the truth… he realized that "Happiness is only real when shared", and he accepted himself for who he really is.. he signed his name Christopher McCandless, when throughout his trip, he called himself Alexander SuperTramp. He died staring into the sky, imagining his reunion with his parents, and wishing his parents could see the world through his eyes. "What if I were smiling and running into your arms? Would you see then what I see now?
" His death is tragic, yet I’m happy for him, for going after what he believes and what he wants to do, and for finally finding his meaning to life. And his happiness is shared through his diaries, which has now been made into movies and books. I just wish he is here to witness that happiness.

another quote i really liked from the movie is "But when you forgive, you love. And when you love, God’s light shines through you." not that i’m religious, but that phrase just sounds beautiful… especially in the movie, once Ron finished saying that, the sun peaked through the clouds, and bathed them in light… I think at that moment, Chris had forgiven his parents, and forgave the society… but he wants to finish his journey… maybe he knew there’s a chance that he wasn’t coming back, that’s why when Ron asked to adopt him as a grandchild, he told him to wait till he is back from Alaska…

My dad was actually the one who picked the movie, but he watched it on and off.. he thinks Chris is mentally ill (which actually is a possibility), and believes he had chosen the wrong path to walk. The whole movie seemed pointless to him.  and i thought… generation gap!! I guess he takes on the viewpoint of Chris’s parents, and don’t understand why Chris had thrown away his education, life, abandoned his family just to die in the wild.  but yeah, i think if Chris could see the pain he caused his parents for disappearing for 2 years and found dead, he would have decided other wise. But I think he lived a spectacular life, and if that’s what satisfied him, then it’s well worth it.

While reflecting on the story, i remembered a vague recollection of someone telling me about the movie… anyways, i think i want to buy that book and read it.. the movie is probably not as close to the real story as the book.

Other quotes i liked from the movie, although i think truth will be worth less w/o love:
rather than love, than money, than faith, than fame, than fairness… give me truth.

If we admit that human life can be ruled by reason, then all possibility of life is destroyed.

About m0untainmist

I'm awesome ;-) j/k...
This entry was posted in English, movies/dramas. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Into the Wild

  1. yi says:

    I can loan you the book 🙂 I sometimes have the same thoughts as Chris, just be completely free, living in the wild. But I guess I am normal so I cannot do what he has done.

  2. Lan says:

    yay! ok, i’ll remember to borrow the book from you next time =D . A friend told me that the same author wrote "Into Thin Air" which is quite good as well.

Leave a Reply

